To Dance on Canada Day

Today I wanted to dance to “Oh Canada”

But I didn’t,

thinking it would be disrespectful.

So I kept the urge quiet.

Its tune made me happy

Maybe it was because I was exhausted and I found the tune soothing.

Maybe because I was happy it was summer

And any melodious trembling made me want to sway and swirl

But I think it is because I am proud to live where I do

and grateful for what others have done

facing death for an ideal

Just so I could be free to stand

At attention and listen

And dance in my imagination

To the swells of that proud melody

Leave a Reply

