Lessons my Oven Taught Me

About a month ago I decided to bake blueberry muffins.

For those that know me, the fact that I was even entertaining the idea of domesticity was indeed a Christmas miracle.

Anyhoo… whilst I was making the batter and pre-heating the oven, I began to smell something burning. Nothing catastrophic, there was no smoke, but it was enough to make me turn off my oven. It was probably the element burning the dust off because it had been a couple of mon…*ahem* …it had been “awhile” since I had used my oven. So I promptly turned it back on.

And…the light didn’t go on. You know the light I’m talking about, the little red one under the temperature “bake” or “broil” button. “Oh no! “ I thought to myself. “My oven has broken! Whatever shall I do?” Ok, this wasn’t quite my internal dialogue which was somewhat peppered with “colourful” language. So, I waited a few more minutes then tried again. Still no light. So I did what most people do when it a crisis

and posted my crisis as a Facebook status.

And got all sorts of diagnostics! It could be the fuse. Or the element. Probably the top element.

Next, I phoned my dad who figured it was probably the fuse. So I found the fuse and struggled with all my might to remove it from the panel but with no luck. So I took a picture of it with my cell phone and emailed it to him. But alas, the image was too dark for him to assess the problem. So, before I sent for the repairman my father (the hero in most of my emergency situations), came over, with a pair of pliers so he could remove the fuse, but not before trying the oven.

And lo and behold it worked.

And I’ve figured out why. I freaked out over the smell, quickly turned off the oven and when I turned it back on the light didn’t glow red I ASSUMED the oven was broken. The light only turns on when the oven is heating up to the temperature you have set. Once it reaches that temperature the light turns off.

And my oven was still warm, at the temperature reached and therefore didn’t have the little light glow red.

For an entire month I believed my oven was broken when,

in fact,

it wasn’t.

Everything was at it should be, but I needed the light as proof. Evidence that things were working.

I sooo do this in life. I think the worse case scenario if I can see proof of success when I think I SHOULD see it. I get hung up on having to see physical evidence rather than believe in the sincerity of others.

I need to meddle and pester and check and re-check for confirmation, usually in an effort to confirm my suspicions…

which is really quite sad when you think about it.

Most preconceived notions are about as substantial as cotton candy.

Really, we don’t need to see little red lights in order to believe that the mechanics of life are in working order.

We don’t need proof of happiness. We just need to believe in happiness.

The order WE establish is insignificant,

contentment exists silently and unobtrusively waiting for us to just sit back,

relax,

breathe,

and discover it for ourselves.

Hopefully it won’t take months of believing fallacies before we discover it as so.

One thought on “Lessons my Oven Taught Me

  1. As a kid I loved Spiderman, Spiderman was my inspiration and it made me want to go outside every single day and pretend I was him. As a kid I bought all the action figures and all the movies and I would play and watch the movies at the same time. I was hysterical when I found out that they were going to make a number 2 and a number 3. I could never stop talking about it. But when I found out that Spiderman 4 was going to come out I was shocked and just speechless. Spiderman was basically a come back of venom, In the ending of Spiderman 3 Spiderman and Harry destroy Venom. In the trailer to Spiderman 4 venom is back but instead of it being black its red, other knows as carnage. Carnage was a bigger and stronger style of Venom and it was going to be unstoppable. But one day when I was watching the trailer to Spiderman 4 for the 100th time it had a updated version with new comments, so I read them. It said that Spiderman 4 has stopped being filmed and it will not be made. At that point I had been so upset and was very disappointed. As I pouted and felt bad for myself some new news came out for Spiderman. It had said that The Amazing Spiderman is now being filmed. I wasn’t sad anymore because at least there was going to be a new movie of Spiderman. The Amazing Spiderman was a trilogy to the very first Spiderman film. And they were now going to continue with The Amazing Spiderman, who knows maybe some day Spiderman 4 will actually happen, it would be awesome if it did! The reason I loved Spiderman so much was because he was bullied all the time in school, and his crush ended up being his girlfriend when he got powers from a radioactive spider. Spiderman then ended up helping people and making sure that the whole city was safe all the time.

Leave a Reply

