A Ruffled Mind

“A ruffled mind makes a restless pillow” Charlotte Bronte

I’m having the kind of week where each day was packed (and it’s only Monday).

From dawn until dusk.

I was going and talking and learning and teaching and correcting and driving and phoning and emailing and…

I’m a thinker. I need time to decompress and debrief with my “saner” self the events, obstacles and successes of the day. But I haven’t been able to do so. So, my subconscious is taking over. And I’m compensating for my lack of reflection by dreaming vivid dreams.

The other night I dreamed my senior English class took down my bulletin board displays and replaced them with posters of kittens and balloons and creepy smiling clowns.

Last night’s REM brought gladiators fighting Yorkshire Terriers.

…. Yeah, I’m not even going to try interpreting these.

Finally today, tonight really while I’m writing this, have I had time to think,

and mull

and process my day.

And, you know what, other than being freakishly busy it’s been a rather good one. I wonder when I’ve learned to shift into “neutral” and go with the direction and incline the week takes me. Not resenting commitments or requests, not dreading deadlines and appointments.

Just taking things as they come.

Good for me! I usually rail against the storm, the onslaught of duties and obligations my work demands of me.

What about you? Do you need time to decompress and review your day? Do you find your mind too full of thoughts and images at night to have a restful, neutral sleep void of confusing bizarre story lines? And if so, what do you do?

Leave a Reply

