Encore: In the Middle of the Blur

“Beware the barrenness of a busy life” Socrates

Have you ever been too busy to notice?

Where you’ve had the kind of day where your focus is way ,

way

far ahead of your being

and you are concentrating on everything that has to be done before the sun sets…

else all things fall to wrack and ruin.

And all the day long you are looking to see what needs to be accomplished next, what tasks need completion,

without really paying attention to what is going on around you at present.

I had that kind of day today, where before I was fully awake, I was planning my day.

Every minute possessed it’s own schedule.

“Multitask” my middle name.

And now, as I sit on my sofa at the end of the day, I feel as though I’ve accomplished almost everything I intended to do

but

missed something important.

I missed talking to my colleagues. I missed teasing my students.

I missed the violent pink sunrise that greats me every morning outside my classroom window.

I missed tasting the rare delicious lunch I had packed.

Why is it that sometimes we reach the end of our day and think “what just happened? “ It’s like arriving at work and not remembering the drive there.

Wouldn’t it horrible if life was like this day. So busy but filled with nothing memorable.

I guess the thing to do is pause once in a while,

in the middle of the blur

and look,

or listen,

or taste.

And appreciate the moment for the moment.

Just so that we have something to remember from the day.

Leave a Reply

