Encore: Homage to a Hermit Hole

Sometimes I fall into a deep dark “leave me alone” hermit hole.

Where all I want to do is curl up

in the softness of my bed

And be.

Alone and away from the requisites of the day.

It would be quiet

and calm

and headache free

And I could aimlessly roam in my imagination

Like I did when I was a child

Where I’d make up stories And save the day.

But saving the day is more difficult

Outside of the hermit hole,

Where subjective interpretations and misperceptions

Make the truth murky

And processing the goings on of the day is exhausting business

And often result in mistaken conclusions

Making me want to escape and cushion

Myself in quilt-y quietness

Leave a Reply

