Encore: Revelling in Randomness

I went for a walk today.

In a city that is not my own.

Equipped with my walking boots and a map.

I didn’t originally intend to go for a walk per se. I was just going to walk to “Plum” to shop and then to “Bliss”. But I ended up buying lemonade and sitting on a bench near the harbour.

After my refreshment I found a map and followed a route down Rockland way then onto Moss where, to my surprise,

I walked off the map.

My trek took me past a gothic church where I could hear the squawking of a pipe organ being tuned, then past a graveyard with a smattering of gravestones so weatherworn their inscriptions mere ghosts

when

finally I turned and found little banners hung with care off the street lamps.

So

I followed them, their words beckoning me forward. Until, at last I came to a building.

And I entered

and was immediately immersed in Emily.

Ultramarine and Azure blues. Cobalt greens. Cathedral trees with shards of light and majestic totems.

Earthly ethereal.

Eventually I had to step out of the paintings and walk back onto my map.

Happy I let this day reveal itself to me.

Emily_Carr_Blue_Sky_S

Image from http://www.groupofsevenart.com

“Cedars are terribly sensitive to change of time and light- sometimes they are bluish cold-green, then they turn yellow warm green- sometimes their boughs flop heavy and sometimes float then they are fairy as ferns and then they droop, heavy as heartaches.” Emily Carr.

Leave a Reply

