The Day Before Christmas Holidays

As adults, the day before holidays start, holds that same childlike promise of “good things to come.”
What are you looking forward to the most this Christmas season?

First of all, I’m looking forward to SLEEPING . Can a person stockpile sleep? Filling the bins and granaries of unconsciousness top full?

Second? To get my house in order. Not that getting my house in order will take a huge amount of time. But I do need to buy a bookshelf thus ridding my kitchen cupboards of the volumes and volumes of books I’ve kept stored there since July. Next I must buy implements of entertaining. Serving dishes, table linens, wine glasses. My intent being to welcome friends and family into my home having lived like a hermit this last year. I may even dust out the oven and cook something.

Third, sad but true, I have to work. At the moment my marking pile stands 73 ¼ cm high. I’m NOT kidding. Just looking at it makes me sigh in despair. But chipping away at it will give me a sense of accomplishment…

or so I keep telling myself. I’ve bought a couple of bottles of Shiraz as liquid encouragement.

Fourth? To just “be” with my loved ones. I’m so lucky to have the family and friends I do. Not only have they put up my insecurities and anxieties, they’ve supported me, distracted me and loved me through the mess this last year has hurled at me.

I’m especially looking forward to number four.

Only one more sleep.

It can’t come soon enough.

Leave a Reply

