Christmas TV Fare

[Ralphie is visiting Santa at the department store, only he can’t remember what he wanted]

Santa Claus: How about a nice football?

Ralphie as Adult: [narrating] Football? Football? What’s a football? With unconscious will my voice squeaked out ‘football’.

Santa Claus: Okay, get him out of here.

Ralphie as Adult: [narrating] A football? Oh no, what was I doing? Wake up, Stupid! Wake up!

Ralphie: [Ralphie is shoved down the slide, but he stops himself and climbs back up] No! No! I want an Official Red Ryder Carbine-Action Two-Hundred-Shot Range Model Air Rifle!

Santa Claus: You’ll shoot your eye out, kid.

From the movie “A Christmas Story”

Christmas season always means a bombardment of festive movies on television. When I was a kid and all we had was “farm T.V.” my sisters and I could always depend on a few movies that would ALWAYS make their way onto the airways. We’d LIVE for the evening “When the Grinch Stole Christmas” and “The Sound of Music” were on television. The evening of the great event would usually mean mom would break out the pea green “sick” blanket and stretch it out over the living room floor. Then she’d pop up some popcorn the old-fashioned way in the old iron fry pan. We’d wait in anticipation for the first “pop” knowing that soon our chins would be dripping with butter. We’d wash it all down with some Co –op orange pop.

I always loved seeing the Grinch’s heart grow and don’t get me started over the kiss Captain von Trapp gives Maria the night of the party!

Christmas also meant “Anne of Green Gables” and “Anne of Avonlea” would make it’s way to the small screen. When I was at university, the series seemed to start mid December and I would take time out from studying for finals knowing that soon I would be out of my little bachelor apartment on campus and on my way home.

Then there are the Christmas classics:

“A Christmas Carol”,

“It’s a Wonderful Life”,

“A Christmas Story”,

“Elf”.

What movies mean “Christmas is really here” for you? Is there a family favourite you and yours make sure to gather round the telly and watch together?

Leave a Reply

