A Person on Which to Perch

“A friend is a person with whom I may be sincere. Before him, I may think aloud.”

~Ralph Waldo Emerson

This, to me, is a quintessential definition of friendship.

Sometimes it seems sincerity is difficult to come by because,

for the most part,

most of us are afraid to be judged for who we are.

So we tweak and change what we say

and what we do

so we will be accepted rather than be alone.

And besides, we don’t want anyone to know we are crazy. Especially if you’re young.

(Thankfully we eventually reach an age where we can wear “crazy” like an accessory and not be voted off the island, or if we are voted off the island and just don’t care.)

I’ve been lucky. I have friendships that have withstood the test of time.

I can “think aloud” and have someone listen.

These friends can make sense of my nonsense

or if they can’t can gently point me at any over-analyzing or second-guessing or insecurity

and

either give me a hug

or

kick me in the ass.

It’s a relief to not have to wear a mask that restrains and suffocates the genuineness of self.

I imagine if no such friends would exist we’d all be birds

with no place to perch.

Flying around and around

exhausted from trying to keep aloft of our truth.

3 thoughts on “A Person on Which to Perch

Leave a Reply

