Encore: All I Want for Christmas is a Vespa

*  I wrote this three years ago.  Sadly I have yet to buy myself a Vespa.  One day…

A couple of weeks ago I was in a pretty serious accident.  A drunk driver ran a stop sign and hit me on the drivers side totaling my new RAV4.  I loved my RAV 4.  For the 10 years before I purchased my RAV I owned a little red Mustang.  As some of you know, I don’t like buying big items. It stresses me out.  Don’t get me started on the day I bought my condo *shiver*.    Anyway the RAV is gone, the insurance company sent me a cheque and now I’m in the market for a new set of wheels.

You’ d think I’d be giddy with excitement.  Friends and family are more than enthusiastic to help me spend the money.  Even my boss had me “build and price” a few with him on the computer at work the other day. The family wants me to buy something big and safe, but it would be difficult to park a Humvee in my underground parkade.

What I want is a Vespa.

I know, I know, it would be suicide to drive a Vespa on the streets of a northern Alberta town where the vehicle of choice is a truck with a lift and matching gun rack.  Not to mention the winters.  I’d be limited to driving the Vespa only during the number of months where we have no snow.  That would limit me to two.

But I think I want a Vespa because I want the life that comes with it.  That would be a life in some smaller town in a warmer clime with charming farmers markets and quaint little bakeries. Where drivers drive with precision and sense of purpose.  “Today we will drive to the market and buy some fresh tomatoes.”  or “today we will take a drive in the country and have a picnic in a field of wildflowers”.  Well, maybe I’m exaggerating a sense of pastoral here, but you know what I mean.

They drive Vespas in Paris.  I’ve seen them and coveted them.  I know exactly which one I want.  The GT250 in portofino green complete with top case and matching helmet.  And just to make the Vespa experience even MORE exciting, I can join the “Vespa World Club” where you can be a part of rallies and rides…kinda like a gang, only with scooters!

*sigh*

But until I can find a way to escape the reality I’m in now I’ll have to be mature and responsible and purchase a more practical means of transportation.  Something with four wheel drive, heated mirrors and a Wolo Model 419 Bad Boy air horn.

I wonder if you can put a lift kit on a Vespa?

Leave a Reply

