Public Enemy #1

Ok, private enemy #1.

I’m trying to make peace with my alarm clock.

Summer vacation is over and I have to be up and ‘at ‘em bright and early.

I’m usually a morning person. Before the holidays hit I was up at 5:30 am and at school by 7:00am…give or take 15 min. And now….now I don’t leave home until 8:00pm. Granted it’s still early enough. I’m not late because I really don’t have to be at work until 9:00 for these first few teacher organizational days.

But when the kiddies come, it will be a different story.

But I digress…back to my alarm clock.

I really hate it. No REALLY REALLY hate it.   This morning it dragged me from a dream where I was visiting Japan and about to move from my humble shoebox sized apartment into the Emperor’s palace. I was not a happy camper when I had to leave before I could throw the mother of all house-warming parties.

I hate it when the morning alarm actually wakes me up. I prefer to wake a nice ten or fifteen minutes on my own, before being jarred back to reality.

Just to lie there and stretch and contemplate the day before me.

Relaxed.

Calm.

Civilized.

I know, I know, my alarm clock is no villain. He is just doing his job. Something I should be grateful for so I don’t have to rush into work, late, muttering the lame excuse “my alarm didn’t go off”.

But in the meantime, I can’t help but glare at it with derision, every time I pass it by.

The bane of my existence.

Leave a Reply

