Encore: An Old Dog and a New Trick

Anyone who has never made a mistake has never tried anything new.” Albert Einstein

 

I'm finding the older I get the more tentative I am getting when it comes from trying something new.

And this tentativeness is really, REALLY bothering me because the ol' adage “you can't teach an old dog a new trick” comes to mind…

which is anything but flattering.It's not that I’m afraid of “new”,it’s just that most often I don’t have patience in myself when I do make a mistake.

One of the payoffs of getting old is supposed to be wisdom and well,

screwing up when you’re old is, embarrassing because one is supposed to “know better.”

It's tough mucking around in the grey

because if I can’t make heads or tails of what it is I’m experiencing I’m afraid to look the fool.

Which is sad, because whimsy and silliness is where most creativity exists.

So my plan for the next little while is to try as many new things as possible. Rock climbing, cooking Indian food…

I have a list and it’s rather extensive.

Not a “bucket list” per se, but a list of little experiences and behaviors,

choice nuggets that will either have me fail

and know,

then either try again

or move on…

or else succeed and add little glimmers of newness to my day.

Leave a Reply

