I Think I’ve Outgrown Chocolate

I think I’ve outgrown chocolate.

This epiphany disturbs me some.

Chocolate was one a treat that I’d buy on days (sometimes months…. years???) when I’d feel sorry for myself and tell myself that I DESERVED IT DAMMIT!

It’s cheap,

its sweet,

and there was nary an emotional upheaval a Coffee Crisp couldn’t sooth.

Chocolate was the treat of all treats. We rarely had chocolate as children. And when we did get a box of chocolate covered raisins from Grandma, or a noteworthy Halloween booty, we’d consume it as quickly as possible before the other sisters got their grubby little hands on it.

I could never understand those friends of mine who could break off a Kit Kat finger, eat it, wrap up the rest, and put it in a drawer for another day. That type of deviant behaviour often had me questioning the mental stability of said friends.

It’s an odd thing.

Years later when I have a plethora of milk or dark chocolate delights in front of me, I do salivate some. My memory has me momentarily convinced that I love what I’m about to eat.

But once it’s consumed I’m mightily disappointed.

So much so that today, Valentines Day of all days, I politely declined chocolates when they were offered

and was perplexed by my response.

When did this happen?

Have I reached an age where my taste buds are getting old and dull and require an exotic array of delectable delicacies?

Am I only ingesting chocolate for “old times sake”?

At the moment Kalamata olives and salmon sushi make me feel gastronomically complete.

It’s almost as if I’ve switched religions.

I do appreciate the pretty packaging that comes with chocolate. Sophisticated boxes with script writing. Gold leaf wrappers. Perfectly nested plastic layers gently cradling each candy individually. A “map” included in the box for reference in order to pick the perfect morsel for the moment.

*Sigh.*

I’ve changed. I’ve switched from sweet to savory.

I’m off to ponder all of this over a jar of gherkins.

Leave a Reply

