Oh To Be A Turtle Herder

Some days I wish all I had to do is herd turtles.

It would be an awesome job. All I’d have to do is round-up the reptiles and move them from point A to point B.

I could sit and read for a good couple of hours, periodically peering up from my pages to view their progress then

getting up to stroll to where they’ve arrived just to count them then settle back into my book.

I’d let them go at their own pace, offering encouragement whenever it was needed by gently nudging with my foot whenever they decided to stall for a length of time or start deviating from the path.

I would feel a sense of accomplishment at the end of each day because the progress of my turtles would be obvious and all I’d need is a tape measure to prove I’d done my job.

If only all responsibility could be so easy.

Leave a Reply

