It’s As Simple As Breathing

I took a deep breath and listened to the old bray of my heart:  I am, I am, I am.  ~Sylvia Plath

Sometimes breathing isn’t so simple.

When I get distracted,  or nervous,  or when I’m multitasking, or preoccupied,

I forget to breathe.

It’s not as though I hold my breath, but I shallow breathe; the air going no further than the back of my throat and top part of my lungs.  Sometimes I take loud obvious breaths to remind myself that I CAN, in fact breathe.  That it is well within my capability to fill my lungs top full of fresh oxygen then expel the air in one large rush.

But I don’t take deep breaths very often.  And I should.  I should because I get too distracted and absorbed with other things in my day.  Superfluous things that take up far too much time and energy and emotion. When I should be concentrating on simpler, more important things.

Like breathing.

I remember the first time I visited the States.  I holidayed in California for two weeks playing the quintessential tourist and got burnt and broke and loved every minute of it.  When I arrived home and exited the airport and took that first breath of Northern Alberta air I was stunned at  how fresh the air is that I breathe everyday.  I didn’t realize the extent of smog, the inferior air quality of the air in California until I returned home and could compare it to the freshness of our own.  And it was lovely and pure and refreshing.

I have to remind myself of how wonderfully invigorating those first few breaths of Canadian air were when I returned from that trip.  I have to remember so that when I get smothered by the “smog” caused by the stupidity and begin to shallow breathe and forget to fill my lungs with a life force,

I’ll take one deep breath in and remember that it really is the little things, the things that are supposed to be second nature or instinctual that we should, in fact be paying the most attention to.  Like

Breathing.

And savouring

And witnessing.

And validating.

And being.

We just have to brush aside all the clutter.

Leave a Reply

