Encore: As To Create a Parallax Distortion

“In the winter that seat is close enough to the radiator to remain warm, and yet not so close as to cause perspiration. In the summer, it’s directly in the path of a cross-breeze created by opening windows there and there. It faces the television at an angle that is neither direct, thus discouraging conversation, nor so far wide as to create a parallax distortion. I could go on, but I think I’ve made my point.” – Sheldon Cooper from “Big Bang Theory”.

Do you have a “spot” like Sheldon? A favourite place to sit and decompress after a hard day.  The prime location in the room for watching television?  The comfiest side of the bed?  Is there a side at church or in the movie theater towards which you naturally gravitate?

Before I rid myself of all my furniture and had to wait two months for the new pieces to arrive, I had a favourite chair.  I could fold my legs under me, balance a coffee cup securely on the arm and have a perfect view of the television screen as well as the goings on outside my window.  But, alas, sadly the chair literally started disintegrating underneath me, the upholstery ripping and bits of yellow foam scattering about.  That, and the fact I kept getting my toes caught in the rips, made for an easy banishment from my kingdom.  I’m sure when the new furniture finally arrives I’ll stake out a favourite chair or sofa cushion and claim it as “my spot” a la Sheldon.

I know when I travel and have to stay in a hotel, if the room has two beds, I always migrate to the one farthest from the door.  When I visit friends I usually go for the seat with the best view of the entrance to the room.  These are not intentional choices on my part…they just happen.  It’s like second nature.  I seem to remember reading or watching an informational program about how covert operatives always insure a good view of the entrance of any space they inhabit.

Hmmm.  I always knew I had it in me to be a secret agent.

I also like aisle seats in movie theatres and airplanes.  I’m more comfortable knowing I don’t have to jump over another human being in order to get to the bathroom.  Easy exit.  Plus I’m ensured one side of my being as having as much space as possible given the circumstances.

How about you?  Do you have a “spot”?  A place that is reserved and revered by all who know you?  Is it a particular end of the sofa?  The back booth of your favourite restaurant?  The corner recliner in the basement rec room?

Leave a Reply

