Decadence and Distractions #37

My distractions this week:

1.  The novel “The Girl with Glass Feet” by Ali Shaw.  Now, fantasy isn’t a genre that I go to very often but I was intrigued by the title of this book so much so I had to buy it to see what it was all about.  The “Kirkus Reviews” called it “strikingly visual” and “Captivatingly ethereal”.  Our protagonist Ida Maclaird is slowly turning into glass and of course as she’s trying to figure out a cure for her condition she meets a young man by the name of Midas (hmmm, think his name and the allusion surrounding it is significant?) and they fall in love.

2.  I love my new Clarks Privo black suede Ricegrass shoes.  I went on vacation and walked and walked and walked with nary a blister or shin splint or twinge of lower back pain.  They look good with jeans and with dress pants.  AND they are water proof, perfect for this sloppy spring meltage.

3.  I’m entranced by the idea of a “sleeping porch”.  Maybe it’s because we are just beginning to come out of hibernation here in my neck of the hemisphere but to go to sleep with nothing but a screen between me and the great outdoors seems wonderful.  The website “apartment therapy” has several images of sleeping porches.  This one is my favourite:

4.  Smartfood has a new popcorn.  It’s amazing.  It might just prove to be a successful replacement for my potato chip addiction.  It’s a “sweet and salty kettle corn” and it’s only 250 calories in just under three, that’s THREE cups.  I tried to find an image of the packaging online but to no avail.  Its a bright and friendly red bag with “smartfood” splayed across the top.  I can only find it at Shoppers Drug Mart here in GP.

5.  I want to visit this home.  I don’t want to live here because I think I’d get claustrophobic even though I’d be surrounded by the wide open sea.  Where would I go if I wanted to run away?  But doesn’t it look like the perfect setting for a wonderful children’s story?  Something with a Pippi Longstockings or a Violet Beaudelaire protagonist?  View the entire slideshow at the NYTimes.

That’s it for this week!

Leave a Reply

