I’m afraid I’m not feeling all that Christmassy.

It seems lately the festive season is being shoved in my face everywhere I turn.  Last week on the afternoon of the eleventh, the hotel I stayed at  took down the Remembrance Day wreaths and started putting up Christmas wreaths…

and I wasn’t ready to give up my poppy.

This past weekend was “The Festival of Trees”.  A lovely opportunity for me to find my holiday spirit, if only I had remembered it was actually occurring.  Ok, I remembered, but I didn’t seem to care all that much this year even though the money went to a perfectly good cause and (insert “happy happy, joy joy” music here) the children of my village were all scrubbed clean singing their carols and dancing like snowflakes in ordered to entertain the masses.

Nope.  I stayed home and scrubbed toilets.

Ho Ho Ho.

And I’m not putting up a tree this year.  In my zealous purge of “everything old and useless” during renos this summer, I took everything to the dump or gave it away…including my tree.  And besides, my new furniture hasn’t arrived and I’m still pretty much living in my bedroom.  My sister is threatening to put a tree up in my bedroom

but I refuse to admit her onto the premises possessing such an outrageously sappy notion.

And don’t get me started on Christmas shopping.  Thankfully couple of months ago, when the spirit of Christmas freakishly possessed me, I bought a few gifts, the respectable time frame totally out of character. I prefer to shop spontaneously, by the seat of my pants if you will.  Preferably the week BEFORE Christmas

just so the adrenaline rush from the purchasing frenzy can sustain me.

And the weather is in cahoots with the season.  A gentle falling of snow has decorated my landscape complete with gentle drifts and enchantingly frost covered tree branches.  It’s charm lost on me because I can’t find my snow brush and have had to use my mittens to wipe the snow off my vehicle.

At least my mittens are red, in keeping with a festive motif.  Purely accidental on my part.

Maybe the Christmas spirit will settle upon me soon.  I’d like to allow myself to ease into the season gently, but unfortunately the world around me is obnoxiously bombarding my senses every opportunity it gets.  I’m tempted to break out my “I love the Irish” button, buy a green sparkly top hat and wear shamrock green for the next month,

just to confuse the universe.

How about you?  Are you settling into the Christmas season with calm anticipation?  Or are you, like me, not yet ready (or willing??) “to be jolly”?

Fa la la la la

la la

la

la

Leave a comment