To Knit Up the Ravelled Sleeve of Care

“Sleep that knits up the ravelled sleeve of care

The death of each day’s life, sore labour’s bath

Balm of hurt minds, great nature’s second course,

Chief nourisher in life’s feast”.

~William Shakespeare, Macbeth

 

I should never sleep in.

I know this but I do it anyway.

It’s not that my alarm didn’t go off, or that I slept through the clock radio, but I actually woke up five minutes before my alarm was set to go off and purposely set it a half an hour later….

then proceeded to lay awake thinking of all the things I won’t be able to do now that I’ve hacked half an hour off my day.

I don’t often “sleep in”on a work morning.  It’s just that I didn’t sleep very well – ok I didn’t really sleep at all last night.  I tossed and turned.  Then tossed again.  Then turned on the television (let me tell you that there is NOTHING on television 2:52 am when you only have basic cable).   Then surfed the net, listened to a couple dozen podcasts, played some solitaire, wrote a bit.

And then, around 5:20 in the morning, I started to feel as though maybe I could drift off…exactly 30 minutes before I was due to get up.

So I decided to sleep in.

Which meant that I felt behind all day.  Not enough time for adequate caffeine consumption.  Not enough time to beat the line up at the Starbucks drive thru.  Not enough time to get all my photocopying done before classes started..

Not enough time.

Not enough time.

Not enough time.

But really, you can never make up the time you lose when it comes to sleep.  At least you can’t steal it from your morning because then you just feel short-changed all day.

At least I do.  And grumpy.

Very, very grumpy.

So tonight it’s an evening of crawling in early, at least early for me.  And here’s hoping that my “chief nourisher in life’s feast” isn’t sitting on his ass having a coffee break.

2 thoughts on “To Knit Up the Ravelled Sleeve of Care

  1. Jonathan says:

    I thought I was going to have an early night tonight… it’s now 1:38am… go figure.

  2. Lisa Helm says:

    maybe we should form a support group!

Leave a Reply

